Lebanon I44 Speedway Rewind-Poindexter Shows Patience In Capturing Charger Title

Lebanon, Mo.- The old saying that nice guys finish last didn't hold true in 2013 in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Monster Energy Chase For The Cup at the High-Banks of the Lebanon I-44 Speedway in the Coca-Cola Chargers as Willard, Mo. driver Jimmy Poindexter grabbed the title in the entry level class 4 cylinder division at Missouri's only active Asphalt oval and Missouri's only NASCAR sanctioned track.

Poindexter, who normally was one of the last drivers to get checked into the pits on Saturday nights was first in the top of the standings this season as he showed patience and the ability to give and take in competition each week to capture the Level 5 NASCAR Missouri track championship.

The Coca-Cola Chargers provided 3 and sometimes 4 wide action each and every week. With 5 different winners in 12 features for 2013, the entry-level division kept the fans wanting more as each night would almost go down to the final few laps before the winner would be decided.

The Coca-Cola Chargers started the season along with the other 4 classes on Saturday May 11th after 2 straight rain-outs delayed the season opener. With 8 entries on hand, it was 2-3 wide racing for the 12 lap feature with Ben White of Rolla taking the last lap win over Lebanon's Jordan Nesbitt and young lady driver Lauren Buhr of Neosho. White was driving the 2011 Charger Championship car of Paul Jepson and was in his first season of driving. After some early season rain-outs and scheduled nights off, the Chargers came back in action on June 22nd as White had to withstand Jimmy Poindexter's last lap efforts to take win second consecutive victory as Poindexter and Lauren Buhr followed. The following week Poindexter reversed the roles with White as Poindexter took his first win of the season with White and Nesbitt following. On the Wed. Night July 3rd Firecracker special, Poindexter came from the 9th starting position and wagged a mid race to last lap battle with Larry Hunter and Nesbitt to take his second straight win of the season. Hunter who had been fighting an ill handling car in the 1st 3 races seemed to find the problem. On July 20th, 10 entries checked-in as everyone was wondering if Poindexter could pull off the 3-peat. At the drop of the green, 3 wide action kept things very interesting as Poindexter was hanging back at the rear of the pack. With Nesbitt and Hunter going back and forth for the lead, Poindexter waited until lap 6 and began the charge to the front without ever touching another car. Up front along with Nesbitt and Hunter, Jason Walls was in the mix for the lead. Poindexter waited patiently and made the winning pass with 2 to go and winning his third in a row with Nesbitt and Hunter followed across the stripe.

On July 27th, while 2 other classes had drivers going for 4 in a row, Poindexter would start 10th in the field as again early 3 wide racing was the norm. While Poindexter was riding the streak, another driver had an extra incentive to race for as Jordan Nesbitt had just became a Father the night before. As Poindexter closed in late in the feature, it was Nesbitt who had the extra surge ending the streak and taking his first win of the season with Poindexter and Jason Walls following.

Following the 5th rain-out of the season on Aug. 3rd, the track swung back into action with another new winner for the Aug.10th event as Larry Hunter was finally able to crack into the winner's circle as Poindexter would come again from the rear for another runner-up finish followed by opening night winner Ben White who had been fighting motor issues. For the Aug.17th event the trend earlier in the evening had been 1st time winners and the Chargers didn't disappoint, With a 4 car battle up front of Nesbitt, Hunter, Poindexter, and Lauren Buhr the top 3 got together as Lauren Buhr avoided the contact and would take her first win of the season as Poindexter charged back for yet another second place finish and rookie lady driver Amanda Anderson made a podium finish with a third place spot.

On Aug.24th, it would be Larry Hunter's night as he drove his 2nd feature of the season as Poindexter took his 5th runner-up spot and 4 in a row while points runner-up Jason Walls completed the podium with a third place spot. Aug.31st after 4 straight bridesmaid finishes, point leader Poindexter broke the streak and captured his 4th win of the season as Lauren Buhr charged to a runner-up place and Walls again in third. For the Sept. 7th event, Hunter took home his 3rd win with Poindexter again showing consistent top finishes with the runner-up spot and Nesbitt in third.

For the Sept.14th Championship night and the title already clinched, Poindexter put his son in the unsponsored number 5 to allow him a chance to have some fun and looking at putting 2 cars in the class. That night Nesbitt charged to the front and grabbed win number 2 of the season with Hunter and Walls again with a top 3 finish.

With a lot of interest and placing the class on a spec Hoosier Tire, the Chargers are expected to grow well above the average car count of 10 for the season as several drivers had moved up after the 2012 season.

The top 8 drivers in Charger points for 2013 along with over 40 other teams and drivers will be honored on Sat. November 23rd at the Ramada Oasis Convention Center in Springfield, Mo. for the 2013 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Monster Energy Chase For The Cup.

For more information on the only active Asphalt Oval and NASCAR Sanctioned track in Missouri visit the website at WWW.I44Speedway.Net and keep abreast of activities and information on the Facebook page.

Coca-Cola Chargers Top 8 (Drivers who competed in 75% or more of events offered)

1 Jimmy Poindexter 5 Willard MO 1227
2 Jason Walls 10 St. James MO 1188
3 Larry Hunter 74 Laquey MO 1173
4 Jordan Nisbett 95 Lebanon MO 1147
5 Lauren Buhr 11 Neosho 921
6 Patrick McKnight 89 Rolla MO 859
7 Amanda Anderson 7 Lebanon MO 763
8 Jary Hudson 37 Edgar Springs MO 723

This site designed and maintained by Cyber Candy Media.
Site Copyright Lebanon I-44 Speedway, All Rights Reserved.
All referenced brand and product names are trademarks, registered
trademarks or service marks of their respective holders.